Chronicles of Knitterly Misadventures


In the line up
April 19, 2009, 10:46 pm
Filed under: for mom | Tags:

It’s past my bed time, so this will be short and sweet.

That is one Textured Shawl via darktricot’s recipe on Rav. The Blue Sky Alpaca Suri Merino is seriously the softest, most heavenly yarn I’ve ever worked with. It would be perfect if it weren’t so friggin’ hairy or loosely spun (although the latter I guess is what lends to its soft loftiness), but seriously guys, seriously- okay- I’m at a loss for words. I don’t like using ‘butter’ when finding similes for yarn, because butter isn’t soft the way yarn is, and I just can’t get around the image of a knitter trying to create a sweater from a stick of butter. Think about it: that would be one nasty mess to clean up, no? (I know you can create awesome stuff with butter- the image of the firefighter’s memorial made entirely out of the stuff after 9/11 comes to mind) Okay, I’ve got it. Soft like kitten paws.

Mm, kitten paws.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment