Chronicles of Knitterly Misadventures


Texture
December 8, 2008, 3:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

If there’s anything I’m more obsessed with than color choices, it’s texture.

Shown here is a progress shot of the Minimalist Cardigan from the Fall 2007 issue of Interweave Knits. I loved Parikha’s version in Felted Tweed, outrageous color and all, but didn’t think I could pull off that particular shade of gryellow. Days later I realized I had a stash of the Felted Tweed hidden away, intended for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan, but in the perfect yardage for the Minimalist Cardi. The rest, as they say, is history.

This project has only reaffirmed my love for Rowan’s Felted Tweed. It’s certainly not the softest yarn in the world, and many have commented that they don’t care for the colorways, but the little flecks of color scattered throughout the skein really make any pattern pop, even simple stockinette, and especially double moss stitch, as used in the Cardi. I’ve already knit two Salinas from the yarn, and both sweaters have stood up to the test of time admirably, so I have no worries about this cardigan holding up. Unfortunately, as Felted Tweed is a lighter weight yarn and not very dense, the ultimate garment will be something more appropriate for cool Fall, Spring, or early Summer evenings rather than the harsh cold of New England winters. For that, I’d be better off with the Beaverslide Worsted I used in the Albatross hoodie (So not looking forward to Boston. I need to finish the Central Park Hoodie, stat).

So far the pattern itself seems pretty straightforward- very, if you will, minimalist in nature. The body is knit straight in double moss stitch in pieces which are then seamed together. The only modification I made was knitting the body in one piece, as I absolutely abhor seaming, especially with Felted Tweed (it’s nubbly, and splits). I just hope that doesn’t leave me with a cardigan that resembles a burlap sac.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

