Chronicles of Knitterly Misadventures


Gretel
September 18, 2008, 8:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Finally, finally I have a bit of knitting to show you. Gretel seems like one of those patterns that everybody and their mother has knit, but this time I can see why. The pattern is one of the clearest and most detailed I’ve ever seen, versatile (you can knit a fitted, “regular”, or slouchy version), cleverly designed in the way the crown decreases are laid out, and interesting to knit. I have been eyeing this knit for a while after seeing so many cute versions in Rav and the blogosphere, so it seemed about time to make one.

Gretel

The only snag I hit throughout was my own idiocy when I didn’t realize I had lost count of where I was in the pattern and was trying to knit the T3F, T3B row twice. Malabrigo has always been one of my favorite yarns; it’s warm, soft, and doesn’t itch the way most wools seem to for me. I will say that it’s hard finding a colorway I like. Polar Morn is the sort of gray seen in a cloudy February morning sky.

Gretel2

It’s a weird phenomenon that I’ve noticed, but it seems that the older I get, the younger I look. I promise I can provide hard evidence that I’m twenty two, but I could pass for fifteen in this photo. I suppose later on in my life I’ll be grateful, but right now it’s more of an annoyance than anything else.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Absolutely beautiful! I love this hat in malabrigo & the color you picked is stunning!

Comment by preita

Thank you! I really appreciate your compliments! I really liked the gray in the version Ysolda published on her website, but couldn’t find the recommended yarn and was concerned about how such a dark color would look against my hair, and so I went for a lighter version in a yarn that seemed to have a similar texture.

Comment by Lily

your gretel looks really nice! i’ve made 2 of this pattern myself so far and it really is a joy to knit.

Comment by Sara

Oh it is. I don’t think I could ever get tired of it. I’m already thinking about making one as a Christmas gift for my cousin, and thinking about different yarns and colors I might use for myself. It was the only one of her hat patterns other than Estella that really spoke to me, probably because I can’t resist a good cable.

Comment by Lily




Leave a Reply

