Chronicles of Knitterly Misadventures


Tomoe and Sirius
August 7, 2008, 7:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

My new babies.

I have been wanting to adopt a cat since high school, although initially I was going to bring home a puppy. T talked me out of that idea, and his mom and sister worked very hard to convince me of the benefits in getting two house cats, so for the last few weeks I browsed shelters and Craigslist looking for older cats. Yesterday morning I found an ad advertising seven absolutely adorable kittens and pounced- all my thoughts about preferring an older cat flew out of my head. By the time T and I finally got to the gentleman’s house there were four kittens remaining, and I immediately fell in love with Sirius’s mellowness, but Tomoe found her way into my heart also.

T named Tomoe after the bravest female samurai since she was fearless from the start (on the way home she was trying to scrunch her face through the gaps in the laundry basket we carried them in). I very, very briefly entertained the idea of naming them Slartibartfast and Crookshanks, an idea which T quickly vetoed. Calypso and Scrunch were close ties for Tomoe. Daruma was a lot harder to name; T liked Cobalt but I didn’t, and I liked Buddha and Stone (for Stoner) but T didn’t. We went through Cobalt (on account of his eyes), Samuel L. Jackson, Turk, Trinculo, Miles (after Miles Davis), Buddha, Louis (after Louis Armstrong- we briefly considered Louis and Ella), Frank or Sinatra, and Daruma. For a while we liked Hiate, which apparently means smooth in Japanese, until T called me this morning to tell me (to my relief) he doesn’t particularly like that name, so I took the initiative of renaming him Daruma, which I had liked from the start. Daruma is credited with being the father of Zen Buddhism; supposedly he meditated for so long that his arms and his legs fell off, and apparently cut off his eyelids in anger at one point. Green tea plants grew where they fell, thus introducing the first green tea plants in Asia. Finally, we settled on Sirius.

They have been settling in well, although Sirius is far more timid than his sister. He still doesn’t like being approached, although he’ll allow himself to be handled and held for a few minutes at a time. Tomoe is much more playful and affectionate; she just scared the crap out of me by clawing up my pant leg to snuggle in my lap for a few minutes. Whatever happens, they’ll both be the most spoiled kittens on the planet, especially considering that T, who has put himself forward as someone who intensely dislikes cats, has fallen head over heels for them (and I think might like them better than me ;)).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

