Chronicles of Knitterly Misadventures


Here Comes the Sun
March 3, 2008, 8:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

New Jersey winters have a strange yellowish gray quality to them from about mid to late November or even mid October to early March. It seems to rain and ‘ick’ about as often as it snows, and is probably one of the more dismal winters I’ve ever had the displeasure of experiencing. The Springs, on the other hand, are gorgeous; balmy weather, clear blue skies- I’ve missed New Jersey Springs more than anything, more, almost, than Seattle summers.

Lately I’ve been getting depressed realizing that I could be finished with my BA this summer if I hadn’t needed to take time off school, so between training for my EMT-B license, I started a pair of socks to remind me a little bit of Spring.

Pattern: Charade Socks, available on Ravelry by Sandra of I May Be Knitting a Ranch House.

The color was perfect, and elicited just the sort of reassurance I was hoping for. I’m not sure what this particular colorway is called, as it was a Yarntini-Pureknits sock club exclusive. While it does make for a lovely pair of Springy socks, it was quite splitty and a nuisance to knit with, at least while using sharper needles like my Inox DPNs. I don’t remember having the same problem with the two other skeins of Yarntini I’ve knit with, so hopefully this one was just a dud. The pattern itself is quite simple and straightforward, one I’d even recommend to a first time sock knitter. If you can slip stitches and do yarn overs, knits, purls, left and right slanting decreases- you can definitely knit these socks.

They were finished this morning and taken out for a gander around the neighborhood with my ancient little dog, just in time for the glorious weather this afternoon- sixty two degrees Farenheit and sunny.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

