Chronicles of Knitterly Misadventures


Introducing . . .
January 21, 2008, 12:23 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Mrs. Darcy:

and Salina:

Both were very easy knits, and any mistakes I made were purely my own fault and usually resulted from my laziness rather than any kind of, you know, devilry with the patterns.

Mrs. Darcy was knit from Rowan’s Yorkshire Tweed. I love the look of the yarn knit up; very timeless and cozy. The pattern is written for one size only, and Mary must be a really tall, skinny beanpole of a thing- the armholes are a bit of a squeeze for me and the sleeves turned out to be about four inches too long for me to wear without folding the cuffs over. It’s not a great sweater for cold weather, obviously, unless you can wear it over a turtleneck. It’ll look great over a pair of jeans, though, maybe with a white shirt, and I’ll save it for when the weather gets a little warmer later in February.

Likewise Salina’s a very simple, timeless sort of sweater, although she’s simple almost to the point of austerity. I like the moss-stitch on the collar, cuffs, and hem; it’s subtle, but keeps the sweater from being boring. The shell buttons called for are luminous, and treasures in their own right. This is the sort of sweater I could imagine wearing on a crisp Autumn night, or after dark in Seattle, and something I could conceivably wear for the next twenty years if it holds up well enough and I don’t gain a significant amount of weight. There’s a little bit of a hole on the cuff of the right sleeve which I still need to darn, and will do . . . eventually.

This weekend I received the Cascade Eco Wool I need for the Hemlock Ring blanket, and I’m still chugging away on the High Neck Pullover. I’m trying very hard to be good and not buy one of those drop spindle kits from Hello Yarn so I can justify buying a Kromski wheel a few years down the road. *headdesk*

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

